I’m working on this so I can start a game on FaceBook. I want to go beyond the Telegraph list!

  1. Possession – A.S. Byatt
  2. The Cruel Sea – Nicholas Monsaratt
  3. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
  4. The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
  5.  The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco
  6. Dirt Music – Tim Winton
  7. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  8. Les Misérables – Victor Hugo
  9. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  10. The Once and Future King – T.H. White
  11. 1984 – George Orwell
  12. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  13. Oscar and Lucinda – Peter Carey
  14. The Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
  15. The Happy Return – C.S. Forrester
  16. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
  17. A Passage to India by EM Forster
  18. Catch-22 – Joseph Heller
  19. Dr Zhivago – Boris Pasternak
  20. Ulysses – James Joyce
  21. Middlemarch – George Eliot
  22. The Quiet American – Graham Greene
  23. Master and Commander – Patrick O’Brien
  24. Childhood’s End – Arthur C. Clarke
  25. We didn’t Mean to go to Sea – Arthur Ransome
  26. The Dream of Scipio – Iain Pears
  27. Enduring Love – Ian McEwan
  28. Voyage to Venus – C.S. Lewis
  29. An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  30. My Brother Jack – George Johnstone

I’m going to stop at 30 to leave myself room for 50 when I’m 50.