Chevalier’s own words:

God says to me
I have loved you with and everlasting love!
Me.
It is specifically me
Whom God has so loved,
Ungrateful me, sinful me…
O God of Love,
Make me understand this word:
Love.

What is it that makes Jesus more real than any historical figure, more real that even Jules Chevalier, in whose steps we walk and in whose vision we stand?

20130626-155231.jpg
For us, Chevalier is a man of his time, admittedly with a profound insight that transcends the limitations of Nineteenth Century theology. His charismatic vision, however, was that through a deep immersion in the Gospels and the development of a relationship with the Jesus we find there and in our hearts, we could achieve a deep and abiding relationship with God and live in His Love.

This love is indeed missionary in character, because Chevalier, regardless of whether one was a priest, religious brother or sister, or lay person, wanted this who shared this love of Jesus to be missionaries —

To be on earth the Heart of God.