I regularly confess to the sin of not really understanding “modern art”, but that’s really a smokescreen for the fact that I know very little about art, full stop, except for stuff like historical and cultural context. It’s hard work, visual interpretation, so thank the good Lord for curators. Dom, courtesy of a very good art teacher, is a real natural when in comes to understanding and interpreting art of all periods, so I ended up a bit awestruck as he blitzed Tate Modern with the Dom version of panache.

The building itself is a bit of a wonder, and the range of rooms arranged mostly thematically. We started off with a set of surrealists that were far more varied than I expected and linked to the dream paintings of many painters who weren’t strictly surrealists! Dom and I developed an unspoken rule that we stayed in essentially the same art space but for most of the time he was flitting from work to work. The best insight I can give into the way he works is that he finishes each day working our his two or three favourite moments or works. I would struggle to remember the general period.

  
We saw much more: some great Soviet poster art and a great set of rooms on abstract art – I may have started to understand it a.bit better after today!

Then it was off to St Paul’s and some real footpounding. As always, entering the building brings a moment of vertigo and amazement, then for me the sheer pleasure of relating monuments to history. After the obligatory visits to Nelson and Wellington, it was time for the dome. I’d been up to the Stone Gallery – at the top of the dove’s barrel – but never to the top. We both made it, and as London’s weather was picture perfect, it made for soe great panoramas.

  
We walked back to Southwark for dinner and mandatory viewing of the Wallabies playing Fiji. It was quite a day, even if Australia missed out on a bonus point.